General Committee Monthly Meeting 21st September 1950

Present: - A Hobson (Cap), R Bennett, W O Bolt, W Brown, H H Cawthron, N S Dale, J Harrop, E S Jones, H Swallow, T H E D Turner & R Wood.

Apologies for absence were received from Messrs L Butlin & J H Firth.

Minutes of the monthly last Meeting held on Aug 17th were read & confirmed,

Minutes of the Handicap, House and Green Sub Committees were approved and adopted.

Accounts amounting to the sum of £92-12-4 were passed for payment viz: - Anglo-American Oil Co £3-3-7, E Meeks Ld £4-0-6, Royal Insurance Co Ld £26-3-4, Hurst Laundry £1-7-4, R Hartley £4-19-0, Kenworthys Ld £48-1-7, J O Bolt & Sons Ld £4-17-0.

The following duly proposed and seconded were admitted to membership by ballot viz: -

Playing	Mr J Glasson 20 Firs Avenue	A Lees N L Wright
Playing	Mr A Newton	D -
	Subject to Nomination being posted for 7 Days	
Playing	Miss D A Cryder Of Grand Rapids Michigan U S A	
Temporary Membership for one year without payment of Entrance Fee.		

Resignations were received from Mrs S Ardern & Mr S Thompson, Hon Members.

Cheques for £3-3-0 each were ordered to be paid to the Winners of the Kenworthy Cup, Payne Bowl, Aitkin Cup, Hall Cup & the War Trophy to purchase mementos for presentation at the Annual Meeting.

The Captain reported that Mr W H Andrew had kindly offered to provide a replica of the Andrew Cup to the Winner and it was Resolved that the offer be accepted and the sincere thanks of this Committee be accorded to Mr Andrew for his generous action.

Correspondence was submitted from: Manchester & Dis Golf Alliance - Notice of Annual Meeting National Assoⁿ of Groundsmen – Exhibition of Machinery & Materials Christie Hospital Women's Trust Fund – Appeal (Lie on Table) Mr Peter B Kemp – (Junior Member now O H M S) Decided he be allowed to retain his membership without payment of subscription whilst doing National Service.

The Secretary reported that he had written to 49 Members whose subscriptions were outstanding as per the list submitted by the Hon Treasurer.

On the motion of Mr R Wood seconded by Mr R Bennett, it was resolved that the best thanks of this Committee be tendered to Mr Alan Hobson for his excellent services as Captain during the past year.

It was moved by Mr A Hobson (Captain) and seconded by Mr R Wood that the warmest thanks of this Committee be tendered to Mr R Bennett & Mr E S Jones for the long and valuable service they have given to the Club as members of the Committee, 28 & 23 years respectively, also as ex-Captains, and Secretary of the House and Handicap Committees. Carried with acclamation.

The Meeting terminated with a hearty vote of thanks to the Captain for presiding.

A Hobson 19/10/50