Annual General Meeting of Members: Saturday October 1st 1938. 8-0 p.m.

Present: M^r R Wood in the Chair and 50 members.

The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting held Saturday May 7th 1938 were read and adopted.

The election of Captain then took place, and M^r Wood in moving the election of M^r H Ridyard as Captain for the ensuing twelve months said that he as captain had enjoyed his term of office and had been loyally supported by the members and was pleased that M^r Ridyard has agreed to accept the office; he had served on the Committee for a considerable period and rendered valuable service, and would without doubt make an excellent Captain and he wished him every success. M^r E Raines seconded and M^r Ridyard was elected by acclamation.

M^r Ridyard then took the Chair and presided over the meeting, he thanked the members for his election and said that M^r Wood, the retiring Captain deserved our very best thanks for his excellent services, and that the Club had prospered very much during his term of office. M^r Ridyard said that he was pleased that the dangers of war had been averted and that the meeting would therefore be held in happier mood.

M^r Ridyard referred to the advantages of the Club; the Good Clubhouse, benefits of fresh air, and beauties of the Course and surroundings.

Election of Treasurer: - Proposed by Ja^s Kershaw that M^r Geo Robson be the Treasurer he said that M^r Robson had held this position for over ten years and had served the Club admirably; this was seconded by M^r H L Boardman and M^r Robson was declared elected.

M^r Robson made suitable acknowledgement.

Election of Secretary: - M^r H H Livesey proposed that J Gibson be appointed Secretary and spoke of M^r Gibson's past services; this was seconded by M^r W Monk and M^r Gibson was declared elected.

Election of Three Members to the Committee: -

The following nominations were put to the meeting: -

M^r F Jones proposed by M^r H R Schofield seconded by M^r H T Buckley.

M^r C I Baker proposed by M^r W Derbyshire seconded by M^r J C Payne.

M^r A Hall proposed by M^r A Dale seconded by M^r J Whitehead.

M^r R Bennett proposed by M^r S King seconded by M^r J W B Hall

M^r Ja^s Kershaw proposed by M^r F Jones seconded by M^r E S Jones.

Ballot papers were issued and votes counted and the Captain declared the following elected: M^r R Bennett, M^r Ja^s Kershaw and M^r A Hall.

Auditors: - The Captain said that as there were no other nominations he declared Mess^{rs} H Barker and R Shaw duly elected.

M^r Raines moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Captain, M^r R Wood and said that he had fulfilled our expectations and had made an excellent Captain and had ever in his mind the

interests of the Club. M^r Geo Hough seconded and the vote was carried by acclamation.

M^r Wood in replay said that he had been a member of the Club practically since the inception and hoped that he would be able to still serve the Club to the best of his power, he thanked the members for their appreciation and that his successor would have a happy time.

The Captain paid tribute to the work of M^r H L Boardman on the Committee, he had decided not to seek re-election, but he had rendered excellent service on the Committee and as Handicap Secretary and his services would be greatly missed. It was pointed out that during the last ten years M^r Boardman had only missed four meetings of the Committee.

Election of Members to the Social Committee: -

It was decided to appoint five members instead f four as hitherto. The following were elected:
- M^r C I Baker, M^r H R Schofield, M^r W Derbyshire, M^r J Whitehead and M^r K Wrigley.

The Captain then asked the retiring Captain M^r R Wood to present the prizes: -

Kenworthy Cup and Replica: M^r W Brown. Kenworthy Cup Runner Up: M^r J C Payne. Aitken Cup and Replica: M^r W Brown. Aiken Cup Runner Up: M^r H Ridyard. Hall Cup and Memento: M^r H R Schofield.

Hall Cup Runner Up: M^r G H Allan. War Trophy and Memento: M^r J Taylor. War Trophy Runner Up: M^r H Ridyard. Payne Bowl and Memento: D^r J V Fiddian.

Payne Bowl Runner Up: M^r A Dale.

Captain's Prize: Mr W Monk.

Captain's Prize Runner Up: Mr C I Baker.

The prizes to the winners of the Four-ball competition held this day Mess^{rs} W Brown and W Walker.

A vote of thanks was accorded to the Donors of prizes moved by the Captain and seconded by M^r R Bennett and carried.

D^r Fiddian offered two prizes and suggested a running competition in two divisions, Four-ball under match play conditions and it was agreed to refer same to the Handicap Committee.

M^r Livesey drew attention to the bad state of the roadway in front of the Club-house. The position was explained and left with the Committee for consideration.

A hearty vote of thanks to the Captain for presiding concluded the meeting.

Harold Ridyard 6th May 1939.