## Annual Autumn Meeting of Members: Saturday October 3rd 1931.

Present: M<sup>r</sup> F Moss the ex Captain presided over the first portion of the meeting and forty seven members attended.

The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting held May 2<sup>nd</sup> 1931 were read and adopted.

The election of Captain took place. M<sup>r</sup> Robson duly proposed by M<sup>r</sup> Ridyard seconded by M<sup>r</sup> E S Jones. This was put to the meeting and carried and the ex Captain duly declared M<sup>r</sup> Robson elected for the ensuing 12 months.

M<sup>r</sup> Robson thanked the members for his election and said that he appreciated their confidence and support. M<sup>r</sup> Robson then took the chair.

Election of Treasurer: - M<sup>r</sup> Rupert Wood nominated by M<sup>r</sup> E Raines, seconded by J C Payne was declared elected and M<sup>r</sup> Wood acknowledged.

Election of Secretary: - M<sup>r</sup> J Gibson nominated by M<sup>r</sup> Jo<sup>s</sup> H Taylor seconded by M<sup>r</sup> P Tildsley was declared elected and M<sup>r</sup> Gibson replied.

The election of four members of Committee then took place. The Captain stated that there were four vacancies, three for three years and one for one year and it was agreed that the three with the highest number of votes should be elected for 3 three years and the fourth for one year.

Eight nominations were before the meeting and voting papers were issued to each of the members present. The result of the voting was as follows: -

H RIdyard 39. E Raines 37. J Kershaw 30. R Bennett 29. C I Baker 17 W Derbyshire 14. J Whitehead 9 and H I Buckley 7. Mess<sup>rs</sup> H Ridyard, E Raines and J Kershaw were elected for three years and M<sup>r</sup> R Bennett for one year.

Election of Auditors: - M<sup>r</sup> W G Baker proposed by M<sup>r</sup> H Swallow seconded by C I Baker and M<sup>r</sup> H Barker proposed by M<sup>r</sup> P C Firth seconded by M<sup>r</sup> H Ridyard. M<sup>r</sup> W G Baker and M<sup>r</sup> H Barker were duly elected.

A hearty vote of thanks, moved by M<sup>r</sup> P Tildsley seconded by M<sup>r</sup> W Derbyshire to the Captain for his excellent services during the past year was carried with acclamation and M<sup>r</sup> Robson duly acknowledged and in doing so referred to the valuable assistance of the Committee, also the various economies which had been put in force, also to the splendid work of the Sub-Committee Secretaries. He also referred to the excellent efforts of the Social Committee and M<sup>r</sup> Tildsley the Secretary. The result of the Gymkhana alone resulted in the sum of £65 being handed over to the Treasurer.

He also called attention to the proposed Dance to be held on October 13<sup>th</sup>.

Votes of thanks were accorded to the Treasurer, Secretary, Auditors, Committee and Secretaries of Sub-Committees as an appreciation of their valuable services on behalf of the Club and duly acknowledged.

A vote of thanks was given to M<sup>r</sup> J Lochead who had served on the Committee for a considerable number of years, also as Treasurer and Captain and who was not seeking reelection.

A vote of thanks was given to the Handicap Secretary M<sup>r</sup> H L Boardman for his valuable services in the past, he was retiring from this office after two years, but his work was greatly appreciated. M<sup>r</sup> Boardman replied.

A vote of thanks was given to the Social Committee and the Secretary, M<sup>r</sup> Tildsley; also to the Ladies who had assisted greatly in many ways.

The following prizes were presented: -

Kenworthy Cup and Replica Aitken Cup and Memento Hall Cup and Memento War Trophy and Memento Payne Bowl and Memento Captain's Prize

Running Mixed Foursomes

Mens Fourball Bogey Competition held this day The prizes for this competition were given by:-

Winner: W Derbyshire Winner: J Taylor Winner: F E Rowbottom Winner: H M Newton

Winner: J Taylor Winner: W Derbyshire Winners 1<sup>st</sup> Division
Winners 2<sup>nd</sup> Division

Runner Up: J C Payne Prize Given by: J S Faulkner Runner Up: R Bennett Prize Given by: F E Rowbottom Runner Up: J Whitehead Prize Given by: J W B Hall Runner Up: J Taylor Prize Given by: J H Knowles

Runner Up: E F Widdop Mrs E S Jones and J C Payne

Mrs R E Barrett and A Dale & P Tildslev Winners: A Dale and L Schofield "Six Up"

A vote of thanks to the Donors of the prizes was heartily given; moved by J Taylor, seconded by W Derbyshire and M<sup>r</sup> Robson replied.

M<sup>r</sup> Moss moved that as the number of attendances recorded on the circulars calling the meeting did not convey the true state of affairs, as only the meetings of the General Committee were recorded that same be abolished; this was seconded by Mr Tildsley and on being put to the meeting was declared lost.

## Recommendations to the Committee: -

M' H M Newton moved and M' F H Knowlson seconded that only two Mixed Foursomes be held during a season on Saturdays viz: - The "Open" and one other and this was carried by a large majority.

M<sup>r</sup> F Jones moved and M<sup>r</sup> P C Firth seconded a recommendation that some means be found for recording on the Honours Board the names of the winners of the Payne Bowl and this was carried.

The Captain informed the meeting that M<sup>r</sup> E S Jones had agreed to act as Handicap Secretary.

M<sup>r</sup> T Earnshaw moved as a recommendation to the Committee that the dates for the Completion of each round in the Knock out Competitions be fixed when the list was posted. This was seconded by M<sup>r</sup> W Derbyshire and carried.

A vote of thanks to the Captain for presiding concluded the meeting.

**G** Robson 7 May 1932.