Annual Autumn Meeting Saturday Oct 2nd 26.

Present: M^r S W Herbert in the chair for the first portion of the meeting; afterwards M^r Reg Bennett took, the new captain took the chair; 55 members were present.

The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting held May 1st 1926 were read and adopted, moved by M^r E Hallsworth, seconded by M^r F Moss.

The Captain, M^r Reg Bennett S W Herbert stated that as there were no other nominations, he declared M^r Reg Bennett Captain for the coming twelve months; proposed by M^r S W Herbert, seconded by M^r F L Boardman: - M^r Herbert spoke as to the good work done by M^r Bennett on the Committee and the excellent services rendered by him as Handicap Secretary.

M^r Bennett thanked the members for his election and said that he would endeavour to justify the confidence placed in him, and would do all that he could in the interests of the Club.

The new Captain M^r Bennett, then took the chair and spoke as to the excellent services so freely given by M^r Herbert during the past year, and it was moved and seconded that the best thanks of the meeting be given to M^r Herbert for his services and carried with acclamation.

M^r Herbert thanked the members for their thanks and stated that his retirement was solely on the grounds of ill health; and that any services he had rendered had been a pleasure, and that he thanked the members for their loyalty and support.

The Chairman then declared "as there were no other nominations" M^r Robson elected as Honorary Treasurer, proposed by M^r J W B Hall seconded by M^r R E Barrett.

A vote of thanks was given to M^r Robson for his valuable work in the past and M^r Robson suitably acknowledged.

The Secretary then presented his Report giving details of the various work done on the Course, Number of Members and work done by the Committees, and on the motion of M^r E Williamson seconded by M^r E Raines, the Report was adopted and a vote of thanks to the Secretary was given and the Secretary acknowledged.

Moved by M^r S W Herbert seconded by M^r C Shaw, that M^r J Gibson be appointed Secretary and as there were no other nominations, the Chairman declared same carried. A vote of thanks was given to the Secretary for his past services and carried and the Secretary replied.

The following were duly nominated and seconded for the Committee, "3 Vacancies, 4 Nominations" were balloted for: - Mr Chas Shaw proposed by Mr G Robson seconded by Mr H L Boardman. Mr Reg Whitworth proposed by Mr F L Eaton seconded by Mr H M Newton. Mr J C Payne proposed by Mr H M Newton seconded by Mr E Raines. Mr R Wood proposed by Mr R E Bennett seconded by Mr P Tildsley. Scrutineers were appointed and the result of the ballot was as follows: - R Wood 48, J C Payne 41, R Whitworth 36, C Shaw 26. The Chairman therefore declared the first three elected for three years. 55 Members voted.

Auditors: - M^r Ja^s Kershaw prop^d by J Gibson seconded by J Lochead, M^r E N O'Hara prop^d by J

C Payne seconded by A Hall, as there were no other nominations, the above were declared elected. M^r Hallsworth moved and M^r Herbert seconded a vote of thanks to the retiring Auditor M^r Chas Shaw for his valuable services in the past and this was carried with acclamation. M^r Lochead explained that M^r Shaw was unavoidably absent from the meeting.

The following Notice of Motion by M^r R Craig was the considered: - Proposed alteration of Rule 2 Section B. Three of the nine ordinary members of the Committee to retire annually and cease to hold office for the ensuing year after which period they are eligible for re-election. This was moved by R Craig, seconded by

S T Hanks and supported by F Moss and H Ridyard. The following members were against the motion: - J H Taylor, E Hallsworth, J Kershaw, E Williamson, J W B Hall,

J Lochead, H H Livesey, E S Jones, R Wood and others and considerable discussion took place; on being put to the meeting 5 members voted for the motion, all the rest against and the motion was therefore lost.

The Captain then asked M^r Herbert to present the prizes for the past year.

Kenworthy Cup and Replica M^r F W Mallalieu Kenworthy Cup Runner Up M^r H H Livesey Hall Cup and Memento M^r Reg Bennett Hall Cup Runner Up Mr E S Jones War Trophy Memento M^r E N Smith War Trophy Runner Up M^r Sy^d Hall Aitken Cup Memento M^r E S Jones Aitken Cup Runner Up M^r J H Barratt Payne Bowl and Memento Mr J C Payne Captain's Prize M^r F W Mallalieu Captain's Prize Runner Up M^r J Gibson Mr E V Monk's Prize M^r F W Mallalieu

Special Mixed Foursomes Competition

Men's Fourball Bogey Competition held this day: M^r J F Rushworth and F L Boardman winners and the following tied for second place M^r F Mallalieu & M^r J Kershaw, M^r T Price & J W B Hall, M^r F A Knowlson & M^r W E Taylor.

Mrs O'Hara and Mr H M Newton

M^r Hallsworth proposed and M^r F W Mallalieu seconded that a hearty vote of thanks be given to the Donors of Prizes and this was carried with acclamation.

Mess^{rs} J Kershaw and H Holden kindly promised to give prizes for the next men's foursomes next season and this was accepted.

M^r S T Hanks moved and M^r H L Boardman seconded that it be a recommendation to the Committee that better lighting be provided in the small room off the landing so as to make it more suitable for Bridge playing; and after considerable discussion, and an amendment which was withdraw, the motion was put and carried unanimously.

M^r Holden moved and M^r E Williamson seconded that card playing in the Large Room by the Ladies and Gentlemen be prohibited, and on being put to the meeting, only 3 voted for the

motion, all the rest against and same was declared lost.

A vote of thanks to the Captain for presiding was moved by $M^r J$ Lochead seconded by $M^r G$ Hough was carried and the Captain replied.

R Bennett

7.5.27.