## Annual Autumn General Meeting of Members: Saturday October 3rd 1942.

Present: M<sup>r</sup> E S Jones in the Chair and 47 members.

The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting held Saturday May 2<sup>nd</sup> were read and adopted.

The Election of Officers then took place: -

Captain: - M<sup>r</sup> Arnold Hall proposed by M<sup>r</sup> E S Jones seconded by M<sup>r</sup> Ridyard. M<sup>r</sup> Jones said that he believed that M<sup>r</sup> Hall would make an excellent Captain, he had the Club's interests at heart, was conversant with the management and although we were passing through troublesome times, with the support of the members he would without doubt prove his worth.

Mr Hall was declared elected and then took the chair.

M<sup>r</sup> Hall thanked the members for the honour they had conferred upon him and said that he would endeavour to carry out his duties as captain to the best of his ability, and asked for the support of the members so that his term of office would be successful.

Election of Treasurer: - M<sup>r</sup> J H Firth, moved by M<sup>r</sup> A Hall seconded by M<sup>r</sup> R Bennett and carried. M<sup>r</sup> Firth acknowledged.

Election of Secretary: - c Gibson moved by M<sup>r</sup> E Raines seconded by M<sup>r</sup> C I Baker and carried. M<sup>r</sup> Gibson acknowledged.

Election of Committee: - There were six nominations for four vacancies. Three for three years and one for one year. The nominations were as follows: -

Fred Thornley, proposed by L Butlin seconded by H R Schofield.

E Raines, proposed by J C Payne seconded by J W Whitworth.

D<sup>r</sup> J V Fiddian proposed by F Jones seconded by W Brown.

H R Schofield proposed by H Burlinson seconded by A Hobson.

H Cawthron, proposed by Syd. Hall seconded by W S Cochar.

H Burlinson, proposed by T Hobson seconded by W O Bolt.

A ballot took place with the following result and in the order stated: - F Thornley, H R Schofield, H Cawthron, E Raines, H Burlinson, D<sup>r</sup> Fiddian. The first three were declared elected for 3 years and the fourth for one year.

Election of Auditors: - M<sup>r</sup> W Lowe proposed by E S Jones seconded by F Thornley. E F Widdop proposed by A Hall seconded by M<sup>r</sup> H Burlinson and declared elected.

Election of four members to the Social Committee: -

The following were appointed: - J Whitehead, H Burlinson, E Buckley and L Butlin.

M<sup>r</sup> J C Payne moved that a hearty vote of thanks be accorded to M<sup>r</sup> G Robson for his long and valuable services, he had served on the Committee from 1915 and as Treasurer for a long number of years, and seeing that he had decided to retire and office it was only fitting that we should say how very much his services had been appreciated. This was seconded by M<sup>r</sup> R Shepherd and carried by acclamation.

M<sup>r</sup> Robson thanked the members for their appreciation and said that he had made many friends and enjoyed the work.

A vote of thanks was accorded to the Secretary, moved by M<sup>r</sup> H Mather, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> F Thornley and the secretary acknowledged.

A vote of thanks was given to M<sup>r</sup> W H Andrew who had decided to retire from the Committee moved by M<sup>r</sup> R Wood who stated that M<sup>r</sup> Andrew had been on the Committee from the inception of the Club in 1912, also served as Captain for three years, and that his services would be greatly missed and that he felt sure that we greatly appreciated such services. This was seconded by M<sup>r</sup> J W Whitworth.

M<sup>r</sup> Andrew replied and said that he appreciated very much the vote of thanks, he had always been keenly interested in the Club and was sorry to give it up, but he thought that it was time to make way for others.

The presentation of the Prizes by the Ex-Captain then took place: Kenworthy Cup and Memento: - W Brown. Runner up H R Schofield. Lady Aitken Cup & Memento: - D<sup>r</sup> H S Cochar. Runner up L Butlin. Hall Cup and Memento: - A. Dale. Runner up R Bennett. War Trophy and Memento: - J W Whitworth. Runner up A Dale. Payne Bowl and Memento: - A Dale. Runner up A George.

A vote of thanks to the retiring Captain M<sup>r</sup> E S Jones was given moved by M<sup>r</sup> H Ridyard who paid tribute to the efficiency and excellent work done by M<sup>r</sup> Jones, this was seconded by M<sup>r</sup> T Moorhouse and carried.

M<sup>r</sup> Jones suitably acknowledged the vote of thanks and thanked the members for their support.

M<sup>r</sup> W H Andrew presented the members present with a copy of the Rules of Golf suitably bound for which he was cordially thanked on the motion of M<sup>r</sup> E Kidd seconded by M<sup>r</sup> A Hall. M<sup>r</sup> Andrew offered to replace the Luxor Cup when required.

The Captain moved that our best thanks be given to the Donors of Prizes, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> C I Baker and carried.

A vote of thanks to the Captain for presiding concluded the meeting.

A Hall.