## Annual Autumn Meeting Saturday Oct 6th 1928.

The Chair was occupied by  $M^{\rm r}$  Reg Bennett the retiring Captain afterwards by the new Captain  $M^{\rm r}$  Fred Moss.

There were about sixty members present.

The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting held May 5<sup>th</sup> 1928 were read and adopted.

M<sup>r</sup> Bennett stated that as there were no other nominations for Captain, he declared M<sup>r</sup> Fred Moss duly elected for twelve months and M<sup>r</sup> Moss then took the Chair. M<sup>r</sup> Moss said that he thanked the mover and seconder also the members for conferring upon him such a great honour; the members of the Committee, and members of the Club could help a Captain a great deal and he asked for their loyalty and support during his term of office. He asked the players of short handicap to help and encourage the player with a long handicap. He also said that it was advisable to remember the work done by the pioneers of the Club, some of whom were still serving the Club.

M<sup>r</sup> G Robson was declared duly elected as Treasurer and a vote of thanks was given to him for past services, moved by M<sup>r</sup> Ja<sup>s</sup> Kershaw, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> E S Jones and carried unanimously. M<sup>r</sup> Robson replied and said that he greatly appreciated the vote of thanks; he considered that the prospects of the Club were very good and hoped that the same concord would continue and that he should do all he could to further the interests of the Club.

A vote of thanks to the retiring Captain was given, moved by M<sup>r</sup> F Moss, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> Ja<sup>s</sup> Lochead. M<sup>r</sup> Moss spoke as to the long association he had had with M<sup>r</sup> Bennett, also the very excellent services he had rendered to the Club, both on the Committee and as Captain for two years; and that his Captaincy had helped in the smooth running of the Club. M<sup>r</sup> Lochead said that he had appreciated M<sup>r</sup> Bennett's services as Captain, he had shewn geniality and sound judgement. The vote of thanks was carried with acclamation. M<sup>r</sup> Bennett replied and said how obliged he was to hear the kind remarks made by the mover and seconder, also said that he always tried to be impartial and appreciated the help given to him by both the Committee and the members and he wished the Club every prosperity.

M<sup>r</sup> J Gibson was duly declared elected as Secretary. M<sup>r</sup> Bennett moved and M<sup>r</sup> W H Andrew seconded a vote of thanks to the Secretary for his past services; mention was made respecting the work done by M<sup>r</sup> Gibson as Secretary to the Greens Committee, also the length of service. This was carried unanimously. M<sup>r</sup> Gibson replied and thanked the members for their confidence and asked for their future help and support.

The election of Committee then took place: - There were four nominations and four vacancies. Three vacancies for three years and one for one year. A discussion took place and it was decided that each member have three votes only and that the one receiving the least number of votes be elected for one year. The following were elected: - H Ridyard, E Raines, and J Lochead for three years and H L Boardman for one year.

A vote of thanks was given to the Committee for their past services coupling with same the thanks of the members to the retiring members of Committee,  $M^r R$  Whitworth and  $M^r F L$ 

Eaton, moved by M<sup>r</sup> E Hallsworth, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> J H Taylor. It was remarked that the members greatly appreciated the work done by the Committee, also the services of M<sup>r</sup> Whitworth from the commencement of the Club and M<sup>r</sup> Eaton for a considerable number of years. The vote of thanks was carried with acclamation and M<sup>r</sup> Ridyard acknowledged on behalf of the Committee and M<sup>r</sup> Eaton responded on behalf of M<sup>r</sup> Whitworth and himself.

M<sup>r</sup> Ja<sup>s</sup> Kershaw was appointed Auditor moved by J Gibson and seconded by J Lochead and M<sup>r</sup> P Tildesley was also appointed Auditor, moved by M<sup>r</sup> R Bennett, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> E Raines. M<sup>r</sup> O'Hara having withdrawn his nomination for business reasons. A vote of thanks to the Auditors moved by M<sup>r</sup> G Robson, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> E Williamson was passed and M<sup>r</sup> Kershaw suitably acknowledged, and M<sup>r</sup> Tildesley thanked the members for his appointment.

The Captain presented the following prizes:-

Kenworthy Cup & Replica	J C Payne	Runner Up	T H Bowers
Aitken Cup & Memento	N Baker	Runner Up	W Monk
War Trophy & Memento	J F Rushworth	Runner Up	J W B Hall
Hall Cup & Memento	J C Payne	Runner Up	L Radcliffe
Captain's Prizes	J F Rushworth	Runner Up	F W Mallalieu
Payne Bowl & Memento	A Taylor		
Mr E V Monk's Prize	T H Bowers		
Running Mixed Foursomes	M <sup>rs</sup> R E Barrett & J C Payne		
Fourball Bogey Competition	T H Bowers & D <sup>r</sup> J V Fiddian		

A vote of thanks to the Donors of Prizes was heartily given on the motion of J W B Hall, seconded by D<sup>r</sup> Fiddian and supported by J F Rushworth.

A vote of thanks was given to the Captain for presiding moved by M<sup>r</sup> E Williamson, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> W H Andrew and the Captain replied.

Fred Moss May 4<sup>th</sup> 1929.