## **General Committee Meeting 8 April 1916**

Present: M<sup>r</sup> W H Andrew presided.

D<sup>rs</sup> Ross Messrs CP Glazebrook, T F Kershaw, A Morris, Geo Robson, H Slatter & R Whitworth.

Minutes of previous meeting read and confirmed.

The following applicants were duly elected members of the Club-

Ernest Ryan proposed by A Fowden Sec E Entwistle M<sup>rs</sup> A W Ackerill proposed by A W Ackerill seconded by T Marsden. Miss E Torkington proposed by Miss Rogers seconded by Miss Wood.

The resignations of the following members were accepted:- E H Andrew, W Baguley, J T Lupton, Rev T M Oldfield, W S Smethurst, Jos Wilson, and S Ferguson. M<sup>rs</sup> J T Lupton, Miss A Mellor, M<sup>rs</sup> W S Smethurst, Miss Chadwick. Transfers to Honorary membership R Bennison, F A Rothwell,.

The following resignations being offered after the 25<sup>th</sup> March a resolution was passed that all resignations received to date be accepted under the present special circumstances. C Craig, Miss A M Barratt, M<sup>rs</sup> B Hulme, Miss B Mellor, M<sup>rs</sup> J H Taylor. M<sup>rs</sup> Parnaby.

A letter having been received from the General Labour Co raising their price for cleaning the windows to 5/-, it was resolved to leave the matter over until next meeting, meanwhile M<sup>r</sup> Whitworth would make enquiries.

The Secretary mentioned there was difficulty in arranging the hire of a horse this season.

The Handicap Committee reported M<sup>r</sup> A Halls' handicap reduced to 14.

Discussed the question of receiving temporary members for the season only at a fee of two guineas but left the question to be mentioned at the General Meeting of Members.

In relation to the election of members of the Committee there arose the question of filling the vacancies caused by the retirement of three members by rotation and two vacancies caused by the retirement of members elected during the year by the committee temporarily, in the latter case the members who filled these vacancies would retire again next year to keep the proper order of rotation amongst the members. On the motion of M<sup>r</sup> Whitworth, seconded by M<sup>r</sup> Morris, it was recommended to the General Meeting that the order should be decided by the greater number of votes, the three candidates receiving the highest number of votes would be elected to <del>of</del> remain on the Committee for 3 years, the next two filling the vacancies which had occurred during the year.

## H G Hall