## Autumn General Meeting: 2<sup>nd</sup> Oct 1948.

Before opening the Meeting the Captain made sympathetic reference to the death of Mr Arnolfd Hall, an old member and Ex-Captain and the members stood in silence as a tribute to his memory.

Present: J H Firth (Captain) and 86members.

The Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held May 1<sup>st</sup> 1948 were approved and signed by the Captain..

It was moved by C I Baker, seconded by R Bennett that Mr J H Firth be elected Captain for a further term of one year. Supported by M<sup>r</sup> Frank Jones and carried with acclamation.

M<sup>r</sup> Firth returning thanks for his re-election said that although the weather had not been too good during the Summer, the season had been very enjoyable and we had been able to play most of our Competitions on a Saturday. He referred to the resignation of the Steward & Stewardess and wished them well in their business venture. A number of improvements in the Club House were planned & consideration was being given to the reconstruction of the 5<sup>th</sup> Green. The Finances of the Club were in a healthy condition and it was hoped to present another satisfactory report in May.

It was moved by the Captain and seconded by Mr H Ridyard that Mr T H E D Turner e elected Hon Treasurer. Carried unanimously.

Moved by Mr N S Dale & seconded by M<sup>r</sup> Eric Buckley that Mr H Swallow be elected Secretary. Carried unanimously.

Election of four members of the Committee.

There were seven nominations before the Meeting viz: -

Mr N S Dale	moved by	F J Rowley	Sec <sup>d</sup> by	J W Whitworth
Mr E S Jones	u	E F Widdop	u	W Lowe
Mr W O Bolt	u	E Buckley	u	W C Woods
Mr W Brown	u	F Jones	u	T Brown
Mr H H Cawthron	u	R Bennett	u	W F Buckley
Mr W Walker	u	J Buckley	u	H Radford
Mr T H Barnes	u	T H E D Turner	u	W Derbyshire

A ballot was taken & the Captain declared that Messrs E S Jones, W Brown, H H Cawthron & H Barnes had been elected, the first three for three years and Mr Barnes for one year.

On the motion of the Captain seconded by M<sup>r</sup> F Thornley, Messrs W Lowe and E F Widdop were appointed Hon Auditors.

The trophies and mementos for the season were presented by the Captain to the following: -

	Winner	Runner Up
Captain's Prize	W Derbyshire	F Turner
Kenworthy Cup	W Brown	W Walker
Payne Bowl	J H Markendale	R Goodall
Hall Cup	J W Whitworth	F W Wright
Aitken Cup	T Fish	N S Dale
War Trophy	S H Battersby	F J Rowley
W H Andrew Cup	F W Wright	W Brown
Four Ball Knock Out	N S Dale &	S Burton &
	K Gregory	H Swallow
Today's Stableford	H Burlinson & F W Wright	

M<sup>r</sup> W Derbyshire proposed that a hearty vote of thanks be accorded to the various donors of prizes for their generous action. This was seconded by M<sup>r</sup> F W Wright and carried with acclamation.

Thanks were accorded to the Members of the Committee and the Officers of the Club on the proposition of M<sup>r</sup> E Kidd seconded by M<sup>r</sup> H Lawton.

M<sup>r</sup> E Raines proposed and M<sup>r</sup> Frank Turner seconded that our best thanks be given Messrs C I Baker & H R Schofield, retiring members of the Committee for the able & faithfull (sic) services they had rendered, M<sup>r</sup> C I Baker as an ex-Captain & Handicap Secy & M<sup>r</sup> Schofield as Handicap Secretary in addition to their valuable Help of the Committee.

J H Firth 7.5.49