Annual Autumn Meeting of Members: Saturday October 8th 1934. 8-0 p.m.

Present: Ja^s Kershaw in the Chair and sixty members.

The Minutes of the last Annual May Meeting held May 5th 1934 were read and adopted.

M^r Kershaw in opening the meeting said that he had had a very happy time as Captain and thanked everyone for their loyalty and that it was his privilege to move the election of M^r E Raines as Captain. M^r Raines had rendered valuable service on the Committee for many years and would make an excellent Captain and he believed that the election was a popular one; M^r Reg Bennett seconded and M^r Kershaw declared M^r E Raines duly elected Captain.

M^r Raines then took the chair, he stated that he greatly appreciated the confidence and election. A Captain's position was sometimes difficult and no Captain could be successful without the backing and support of the members, and that he believed that he would have the loyal support of the members and would do his utmost to be worthy of that position.

M^r Geo. Robson was elected Treasurer nominated by M^r C I Baker, seconded by J Whitehead. M^r J Gibson was elected Secretary nominated by M^r J H Firth, seconded by H Hall.

The following six nominations for the three vacancies on the Committee: - J H Barratt proposed by J H Taylor, seconded by F H Crossley. R Whitfield proposed by H R Schofield, seconded by J C Payne. C I Baker proposed by F Jones, seconded by J H Knowles, H Ridyard proposed by J Lochead, seconded by L Radcliffe. J H Taylor proposed by E Hallsworth, seconded by S Hadfield; and Sydney Hall proposed by N S Dale, seconded by N Jackson were put to the ballot with the following result: - J H Barratt 46, H Ridyard 43, S Hall 29, J H Taylor 21, C I Baker 20 and R Whitfield 12. The Captain declared J H Barratt, H Ridyard and S Hall duly elected for three years. Sixty voting papers were issued and returned and 171 votes recorded.

Messrs H Barker and W G Baker were elected Auditors nominated by J H Wrigley and E Hallsworth.

The election of four members to the Social Committee then took place. The following names were proposed: - C I Baker, W Clegg, R Whitfield, H Swallow, W G Page, and J C Payne and the ballot resulted in Mess^{rs} W Clegg, C I Baker, W G Page and H Swallow being elected.

M^r W H Andrew moved that our thanks be accorded to the retiring Captain M^r Jas Kershaw for his services during the past two years, he referred to the good feeling which had existed during the Captain's term of office also the tact which he had displayed and said that in relinquishing the Office he could be assured that he had given valuable service and carried out his duties efficiently. This was seconded by M^r G Robson and supported by M^r E Hallsworth and M^r E Raines and carried by acclamation.

M^r J Kershaw acknowledged and said that he had had a very happy time and thanked the members for their vote of thanks and paid tribute to the loyalty and assistance of the members.

M^r F Jones moved that the thanks of the members be given to M^r G Robson the Treasurer for his valuable services, this was seconded by M^r A Hall and carried. M^r Robson acknowledged.

M^r J H Taylor moved a vote of thanks to M^r J Gibson the Secretary, this was seconded by M^r C Whitehead and supported by M^r Jas Kershaw and the Secretary acknowledged.

A vote of thanks was given to the Secretaries of the various Sub-Committees, M^r J H Barratt House & Shop, M^r H Ridyard Handicaps and M^r J Gibson Greens. Moved by H R Schofield seconded by P C Firth and M^r Ridyard acknowledged.

A vote of thanks was given to the Committee moved by M^r Ja^s Kershaw seconded by M^r T H E D Turner and carried.

A vote of thanks was given to the Auditors Mess^{rs} H Barker and W G Baker moved by M^r S Hall, seconded by M^r F Thornley and carried.

A vote of thanks was accorder to the Social Committee and M^r J Taylor Secretary, moved by M^r T Earnshaw, seconded by M^r J W D Hall and carried. M^r J Taylor acknowledged.

A vote of thanks was given to the Ladies Committee for their welcome assistance moved by M^r G Robson, seconded by M^r R Wood and carried.

The Captain M^r E Raines, then asked M^r Jas Kershaw to present the prizes: -

Kenworthy Cup and Memento: W Derbyshire, Memento by M^r Kenworthy Runner Up: W Stansfield prize by W Derbyshire

Aitken Cup and Memento: J H Firth, Memento by the Club. Runner Up C Hall, prize by Vernon Kay.

Hall Cup and Memento: N S Dale, Memento by the Club. Runner Up "Not Played" prize by L Schofield.

War Trophy and Memento: J H Barratt, Memento by the Club. Runner Up H R Schofield prize by H Ridyard.

Payne Bowl and Memento: H R Schofield, Memento by the Club.

Captain's Prize: R Whitefield, prize by Ja^s Kershaw. Runner Up H Cawthron prize by E F Widdop.

Men's Fourball Bogey Competition held this day. Mess^{rs} A and N S Dale prizes given by Mess^{rs} H L Boardman and H Ridyard.

A hearty vote of thanks was given to the Donors of Prizes, moved by J H Firth, seconded by A Dale and M^r Ridyard acknowledged on behalf of the Donors.

Several suggestions were made for the Committee's consideration as follows: -

M^r Newton proposed and M^r P C Firth seconded a suggestion that the question of holding an Annual Supper be considered.

M^r J C Payne suggested that the Committee consider the question of extending the course or making some provision in case certain lands were taken from us for building; also that the

Luxor Cup Competition might be made into an Open Invitation event.

M^r W Haynes suggested that the bunkering of the Course should receive consideration.

Mess^{rs} J Thornley and F Jones suggested that the presentation of certain of the prizes might be made on the day they were won either by the Captain or some member of the Committee and not left until the Annual Meeting.

A vote of thanks to the Captain for presiding concluded the meeting.

E Raines 4/5/35