Annual Autumn Meeting: Saturday Oct 5th 1946.

Present: M^r Frank Jones in the Chair and 84 members.

Before opening the Meeting, the Captain referred to the death of a former valued member of the club, M^r Reg Earnshaw and tribute was paid to his memory by all members standing in silence.

The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting held Saturday May 4th 1946 were read & adopted.

The Election of Officers then took place: -

Captain: - M^r Frank Jones proposed by M^r A Hall seconded by M^r E S Jones & carried unanimously. M^r Hall in proposing the resolution said that M^r Jones had made an excellent Captain during the past twelve months, had put all his energy into the work and had the interests of the club very much at heart. He was an admirable Chairman of Committees.

In accepting the Captaincy, M^r Jones expressed his appreciation of the kindly references, & thanked the members for their cordial & unanimous manner in which they had expressed their confidence in him, and for their loyalty & support during the past year. He assured them he would endeavour to discharge his duties to the benefit of the club, the satisfaction of the members and with the dignity the office demanded.

After welcoming their life member (M^r J Gibson) M^r Jones went on to review briefly the position of the Club with regard to the course and the premises. He thanked all the members of the staff for their excellent services and paid official tribute to the Greenkeeper & Professional for their valued assistance in connection with the proposed improvements on the course. He also referred to the large increase in membership & pointed out many ways in which members could co-operate with the ground staff and help to keep the course in its present excellent condition.

Election of Hon. Treasurer: - M^r J H Firth, proposed by M^r J W Whitworth seconded by M^r A Dale, both of whom spoke highly of M^r Firth's past service. M^r Firth was declared elected and made suitable acknowledgement.

Election of Hon Secretary: - M^r H Swallow proposed by M^r L Butlin & seconded by M^r T H E D Turner. There being no other nomination M^r Swallow was declared elected. He thanked the members for their confidence & said he would continue to do his best for the Club.

There were four vacancies on the Committee, and nine nominations as follows viz: -

A Hall	Proposed by	R Shepherd	Sec ^d by	A Salthouse
E Raines	u	H Lawton	u	W Whitehead
H Ridyard	u	W Calvert	u	R Whitfield
F Thornley	u	A Salthouse	u	R Hartley
T H E D Turner	u	N L Wright	u	W F Buckley
A Hobson	u	W C Woods	u	F W Wright
W C Woods	u	J Costello	u	F W Wright
N S Dale	u	A Thewlis	u	J Costello
W Derbyshire	u	J W Whitehead	u	W S Schofield

A ballot was taken and the Captain declared that M^r T H E D Turner, H Ridyard & F Thornley were duly elected for three years and M^r Alan Hobson for one year.

Messrs W Lowe & E F Widdop were nominated as honorary Auditors, and there being no further nomination they were declared elected.

A discussion took place on the constitution of the Social Committee and it was decided that this Committee should consist of four ladies & four gentlemen with the Captain of the Club Ex-Officio Chairman.

M^r H Burlinson & M^r N S Dale were elected Members of the Social Committee.

The Captain then presented the prizes for the current Seasons Competitions as follows: -

Kenworthy Cup & Memento	Winner	W Brown	Runner up	W Derbyshire
Captains Prize	Do	A George		E F Widdop
Aitken Cup & Memento	Do	F W Wright		N L Wright
Hall Cup & Memento	Do	W S Schofield		N S Dale
War Trophy & Memento	Do	A George		J H Lewis
W H Andrew & Infirmary Trophy presented by Dr Fiddian	Do	H Burlinson		W Brown
Payne Bowl & Memento	Do	P Whitfield		J H Lewis
Today's Four Ball Bogey Stableford	Do	A Hobson & P F	Hawley	43 P ^{ts}

M^r H Stephenson proposed and M^r Jack Harrop seconded a heart votes of thanks to the numerous Donors of Prizes. This was carried with acclamation.

On the motion of the Captain, seconded by M^r H R Schofield, it was Resolved: That Rule 14 be amended to read as follows: - "No person shall play as a visitor more than three times in any year unless such person is a bona-fide member of a Golf Club.

M^r Butlin proposed a vote of thanks to the captain & Committee, the Treasurer, Secretary, Handicap Secretary, House Secretary, Social Secretary and Auditors for their valuable services during the past year. M^r Eric Hewitt seconded and the proposal was carried with acclamation.

M^r W Brown referred to the small green fee charged to non-members of the Club receiving tuition from the Pro & suggesting that this was a trivial matter which might be abolished. It was decided to leave the matter to the Committee.

A hearty & cordial vote of thanks to the Captain for presiding concluded the meeting.

F Jones. 3 May 1947