## Annual Autumn Meeting Saturday October 6th 1923

The Captain, M<sup>r</sup> Reg Whitworth presided until the election of the New Captain when M<sup>r</sup> J Lochead took the chair; about sixty three members were present.

The Minutes of the last Annual Meeting were read and passed.

The Chairman then stated that as there were no other nominations, he declared the following duly elected:-

Captain: James Lochead. Proposed by Reg Whitworth, seconded by H Slatter. Treasurer: G Robson. Proposed by James Lochead, seconded by W H Andrew. Secretary: J Gibson. Proposed by J C Payne, seconded by E Hallsworth. Auditors: Ja<sup>s</sup> Kershaw. Proposed by Reg Bennett, seconded by J Gibson.

J F Stott. Proposed by J H Taylor, seconded by H Morris.

The following names duly nominated for the Committee were read over:-

S W Herbert: Proposed by A Morris, seconded by F L Eaton. E Hallsworth: Proposed by F L Eaton seconded by G Robson. W C Morris: Proposed by J H Taylor, seconded by J Gibson. F Moss: Proposed by J C Payne, seconded by B L Parker. J C Payne: Proposed by T Price, seconded by J F Stott. H Ridyard: Proposed by E Hallsworth, seconded by J C Payne. H Slatter: Proposed by J R Widdop, seconded by R Craig.

W Stanfield: Proposed by S Sidebottom, seconded by R E Barrett.

And a ballot taken for the four vacancies the result of same being as follows:

H Slatter 55 S W Herbert 41 J C Payne 36 F Moss 31 E Hallsworth 27 W C Morris 25 H Ridyard 25 W Stanfield 15

The Captain then declared the first four duly elected, the first three to serve for three years and the fourth for one year.

The Scrutineers in connection with the above were Mess<sup>rs</sup> J R Widdop, R Wood, J T Lupton and J Broadbent.

A letter was read by the Secretary from the President, M<sup>r</sup> Kenworthy in respect to the proposal to open the Bar on Sundays for the sale of intoxicants and stating his objections.

M<sup>r</sup> Stanfield then proposed according to his notice of motion that the bar be open each Sunday during the hours of 12-0 p.m. to 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. to 9-0 p.m. this was seconded by J C Payne and on being put to the meeting only nine voted in favour, the motion therefore being lost by a large majority. Several members took part in the discussion.

The Captain then asked the Ex Captain M<sup>r</sup> R Whitworth to present the following prizes and mementos.

Kenworthy Cup and memento to E N Smith
Runner up:-J C Payne prize by E N Smith
Aitken Cup and Replica to E Hallsworth
Runner Up:-F L Eaton prize by W Booth
Hall Cup and memento to F Price
Runner Up:-Reg Bennett prize by H L Boardman
War Trophy and memento F Atack
Runner Up:- J D McGonigal prize by S Sidebottom
Captain's Prize:- to E N Smith
Runner Up:- W Stanfield
Special Running Mixed Foursome Competition

M<sup>rs</sup> Eaton & T Maclean
M<sup>rs</sup> Eaton & J Smethurst
Prizes by W H Andrew.

M<sup>rs</sup> Woodcock Cup and memento to M<sup>rs</sup> Woodcock

Mens Fourball Foursomes resulted in a tie to be played off:- Prizes by H L Boardman.

A vote of thanks proposed by H Slatter seconded by J C Payne to the retiring Captain R Whitworth was given for his excellent services during the term of his office and M<sup>r</sup> Whitworth, suitably acknowledged.

A vote of thanks was then given to the Treasurer, Secretary and Auditors for their past services.

W H Andrew proposed and R Wood seconded a vote of thanks to Mess<sup>rs</sup> G Robson, A Morris, A Lees and W C Morris, for their valuable services on the Committee and M<sup>r</sup> A Morris suitably acknowledged.

M<sup>r</sup> E Raines proposed and J C Payne seconded that in connection with the Whist Drives, married men members be allowed the privilege of bringing their wives who may not be members and after discussion this motion was carried by a good majority.

James Lochead Chairman